History of CCP2

Atomic and molecular collision physics has for many years been a major field of research at UK universities. Following the early work by Thompson and Rutherford, major research schools were established at University College London by Sir Harrie Massey and at Queen's University Belfast by Sir David Bates. More recently, strong theoretical and experimental groups have been built up at more than a dozen UK universities and research laboratories.

This collaborative computational project commenced with the appointment of the first research associate in February, 1978. At the first meeting it was decided that the project should carry out work in the following areas:

  • Electron scattering by atoms and ions
  • Photoionization of atoms and ions
  • Electron scattering by molecules
  • Photoionization of molecules

It was recognized that these areas are particularly important in many applications particularly in astronomy but also in plasma physics and laser physics. They also support ongoing experimental work.

The initial programme has developed and expanded in the intervening years. A range of techniques and computer programs have been developed. The application of high performance computing techniques to the study of atomic collision processes has been a constant theme beginning with a CRAY-1 sited at Daresbury and continuing to the present time with the HPCx IBM computer also at Daresbury.

Previous Chairs of the project

  • Professor P.G. Burke FRS
  • Professor A.E. Kingston
  • Professor J. Tennyson FRS
  • Professor K.T. Taylor
  • Professor E.A.G. Armour
  • Professor T. Monteiro